Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Division III NCAA Governing Bodies

The Iowa Conference dates back to December 8, 1922, when representatives from 12 colleges got together and formed the Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Association. Charter members were Buena Vista, Central, Ellsworth, Iowa Wesleyan, Luther, Morningside, Parsons, St. Ambrose, Simpson, Upper Iowa, Western Union and William Penn. Des Moines University was voted into the conference at that meeting as well. The first Conference constitution was published in January 1923. Also that year, Judge Hubert Utterback of Des Moines, Iowa was named the first conference commissioner and Iowa Teachers was accepted as a member.

    Top: Sports: College and University: Governing Bodies: NCAA: Division III: Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference

   MySQL - Cache Direct